P90X – Better For Being a Home Workout?

I have a friend who takes his P90X workouts to the gym. He has a billing of all the moves in the right order, and he simply does the workout to his own music while working his way through the regimen. On some level I admire this independence; he likes to be out of his house, he says, he likes to be around people. Even better, he says his gym has better equipment than he does. While I understand his willingness, his approach doesn’t appeal to me. I actively prefer doing P90X at home. Why is that, and is there a better version?

My reasons for preferring to do the period of physical exertion at home are simple. For one, i hate commuting to the gym. An extra ten or fifteen minute drive each away adds up over the weeks and months, and i hate wasting time. Second, I like being able to do the workout at any point, whether right after work, first thing in the morning or late in the evening. I don’t need to worry about gym schedules. Third i really like having my kitchen over there. I don’t need to prepare a shake and take it with me, or wait for the drive home to get my post-workout snack. Forth I don’t like wearing headphones, and working out at home lets me play whatever music I like as loud as I want. Finally I find it easier to get in ‘the zone’ when I’m working out alone; I don’t have to actively filter out distractions, and can truly remain focused.

But i guess the main reason that P90X benefits from being a home workout is because it empowers you to focus on Tony Horton and his message as you do your exercises. Reading a list off a piece of paper just doesn’t motivate me as much as listening to Tony’s advice and encouragement. Watching his test group work their way through the exercises also gives me a sense of pacing and accomplishment, lets me know if I’m doing well or lagging behind. And in my opinion? That’s what makes P90X a priceless at home period of physical exertion.

geertspico.wordpress.com
geertspico.wordpress.com

Standard

Leave a comment